ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award 2013

The selection committee for the ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2013 award is Professor Jeffrey S. Rosenschein (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel). Professor Rosenschein is honoured for his pioneering work on the use of game theory in multi-agent systems.  Among Professor Rosenschein’s many contributions in this area are techniques for automated negotiation, computational social choice, multi-agent planning, and mechanism design in computational settings. In addition, Professor Rosenschein has a substantial track record of community service, having been general co-chair for the AAMAS conference in 2003, president of the International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems (IFAAMAS), and serving as co-editor-in-chief for the journal “Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems”.

The ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award is presented annually for research excellence in the area of autonomous agents. It is intended to recognize researchers whose current work is an important influence on the field. The award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGART from the proceeds of Autonomous Agents conferences.  Previous recipients of the ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award were: Moshe Tennenholtz (2012), Joe Halpern (2011), Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010), Manuela Veloso (2009), Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit Kraus (2007), Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nicholas R. Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001). For more information on the award, see: